We are what we eat?

This blog is going to be more of a food diary as I journey through my attempt to eliminate my symptoms of PCOS with a gluten free, non gmo, organic diet.

For those of you that don’t know PCOS (poly cystic ovarian syndrome) is a hidden endocrine disease, that is for the most part still relatively new. What a lot of people don’t know (and I recently discovered) is that it is also considered an autoimmune disease.

Symptoms of the disease include horribly painful ovarian cyst (hence the name) but it doesn’t stop there. You can also have inflammation, random painful inflammation in your joints, back, and sciatic. Weight gain and trouble losing weight….. which is funny considering every doctor always tells me to get rid of the symptoms I have to lose weight. (which I have been doing, not quite there yet.) It causes insulin resistance, which makes most of us pre-diabetic. Thinning hair up top but odd extra hair in other random places. Infertility and depression. Those are just what http://www.webmd.com list. What they don’t tell you about is the mood swings, the KP (keratosis pelaris), lactose intolerance, gluten intolerance, various vitamin/mineral deficiencies, anxiety, acne, migraines, IBS, high cholesterol, heart disease and the list goes on and on and on.

I can remember a time when I would tell people (mostly other women) what I had and I had to explain because they had never heard of it. Now I mention it and 3 out of the 5 women have it. I believe the actual standing statistics right now are 1 in 10 women suffer from PCOS and 6 out of those 10 are overweight or obese. 5 million women in the US alone struggle with this disease, but it’s not talked about. What changed us? What caused the drastic increase in women (and men) suffering from this disease and other infertility issues? Medicines? Pollution? GMO’s and pesticides in food? Additives? All of the above?

In this blog I hope as light is shed for me, I will be able to shed light for others on this increasing soon to be food poisoning epidemic.

One thought on “We are what we eat?

  1. I am so excited for you girlie! You are such an inspiration to so many of us fighting this ugly beast known in the medical world as PCOS. I know your blog will help so many people! I’ve only had the privilege of knowing you for a short time but in the time you have told me more info about this than my own dr! Keep your head up and know you are in my prayers and you WILL one day have your own little one:)

Leave a Reply

